Our team

Program director

Prof. Sofiène Affes is a recognized expert in wireless and signal processing. He has been twice the recipient of a Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS) Award from NSERC, from 2008 to 2011, and from 2013 to 2016. From 2003 to 2013, he held a Canada Research Chair in Wireless Communications. From the early years of his academic research career, he has been collaborating extensively with industry. More information.


Sofiène AffEs


Program Co-applicants

Our co-applicants, from five Montreal-based universities, held as of funding announcement date 10 Canada/Industrial/Institutional Research Chairs. Almost all of the co-applicants have been successfully collaborating in a large number of different previous and/or ongoing collaborative and strategic research projects funded by NSERC, CFI, FRQNT, Prompt, MDEIE and other organizations. All applicants will be involved in research projects and internship supervisions under PERSWADE.

Charles Despins
François Gagnon
Ali Ghrayeb
Ferhat Khendek
Fabrice Labeau
Long Le
Tho Le-Ngoc
Martin Maier
Serioja Tatu
Ke Wu
Polytechnique Montréal

Program Coordinator

Ms. Yang Chen has more than 10 years’ work experience in marketing, business development and management at different ICT organizations such as telecom operators and an industry-academic wireless telecommunications research center (WiCO) etc. Contact the program coordinator at: yang.chen@emt.inrs.ca or coordinator@create-perswade.ca .

Yang (Linda) Chen

Academic Collaborators

Industrial Collaborators

  • Basile Agba, Hydro Québec (Montreal)
  • Denis Couillard, Ultra TCS (Montreal)
  • Adrian Florea, Industry Canada (Ottawa)
  • Michel Forest, MDA (Montreal)
  • Jean-Nicolas Huppé, COGECO CABLE Inc. (Montreal)
  • Zacharia Ouardirhi, Focus-Microwaves (Montreal)
  • Vincent Roy, InterDigital Canada (Montreal)
  • Edward Sich, Ericsson Canada (Ottawa)
  • Gamini Senarath, Huawei Canada (Ottawa)
  • Tristan Martin, Nutaq (Quebec City)